Touro College/New York Medical College to Launch Nursing Program in Westchester

New Program will Create a Nursing Pipeline with Westchester Community College and Community Nurses

May 17, 2017

VALHALLA, N.Y., – Touro School of Health Sciences today announced a new Registered Nurse (RN) to Bachelor of Science (BS) degree program to be located on the New York Medical College (NYMC) campus in Valhalla, N.Y. in Westchester County.

Already in place at Touro’s Brooklyn campus, the nursing program is set to launch in Valhalla in September 2017. The announcement was made as part of a signing event today at Westchester Community College (WCC) in Valhalla.

The RN to BS program is a two-year program designed for licensed registered nurses who have graduated from accredited associate degree or diploma nursing programs. Graduates of the WCC Associate of Applied Science or other schools' degree program are able to apply their credits toward a BS degree in nursing at the Touro School of Health Sciences at NYMC. Registered nurses practicing in the community, in clinics, and in hospitals who are seeking a BS in nursing degree are welcome to apply. The program focuses on professional nursing practice and builds on theories of community nursing and leadership.

“The NYMC RN-BS Program will prepare Registered Nurses for enhanced roles in nursing. By bridging academia and practice, the curriculum is focused on inter-professional education. The collaboration between the new program and NYMC will foster professional education with other students in healthcare professions,” said Sandra Russo, Chair and Director of Nursing at Touro School of Health Sciences.

The new nursing program will be located at 19 Skyline Drive on the NYMC campus adjacent to the new Touro College of Dental Medicine.

With five New York-based health care-focused institutions of higher education which collectively graduate more than 2,000 students every year, Touro is one of the nation's leading educators of health care professionals.  In addition to the Touro College School of Health Sciences, the Touro College and University System also includes NYMC, Touro College of Dental Medicine at NYMC, Touro College of Osteopathic Medicine (with campuses in Harlem and Middletown), Touro's Osteopathic Medical Schools in Nevada and California, and Touro's Colleges  of Pharmacy in New York and California.

For more information on the program, please visit

The Touro College and University System

Touro is a system of non-profit institutions of higher and professional education. Touro College was chartered in 1970 primarily to enrich the Jewish heritage, and to serve the larger American and global community. Approximately 18,000 students are currently enrolled in its various schools and divisions. Touro College has 30 branch campuses, locations and instructional sites in the New York area, as well as branch campuses and programs in Berlin, Jerusalem and Moscow. New York Medical College; Touro University California and its Nevada branch campus; Touro University Worldwide and its Touro College Los Angeles division; as well as Hebrew Theological College in Skokie, Ill. are separately accredited institutions within the Touro College and University System. For further information on Touro College, please visit

New York Medical College

Founded in 1860, NYMC is one of the oldest and largest health sciences colleges in the country with more than 1,400 students, 1,300 residents and clinical fellows, nearly 3,000 faculty members, and 19,000 living alumni. The College, which joined the Touro College and University System in 2011, is located in Westchester County, New York, and offers degrees from the School of Medicine, the Graduate School of Basic Medical Sciences, the School of Health Sciences and Practice, a school of dental medicine and a school of nursing. NYMC provides a wide variety of clinical training opportunities for students, residents, and practitioners. For more information, visit

Media Contact
Elisheva Schlam
Executive Director of Communications